The Nutcracker and the Four Realms Reviews

Page 1 of 17
December 17, 2018
This movie is so overly "progressive" that it looks like a joke.
The story is so boring and bland.
Garbage
½ December 17, 2018
The lead actress is a robot trying to resemble a human and never quite succeeding. Everything else is generic trite. It's basically a repeat of Tim Burton's Alice in Wonderland, only worse. Generic chosen one plot with mildly interesting-looking CGI. It has a twist villain who really should not be the villain of this story. Also there's a brief scene that resembles a segment from Fantasia.
December 17, 2018
One of Disney's best films. The settings are magical, the characters played well and all against spectacular animation and effects. The film isn't for children and it isn't for adults, but its a film for someone who is ready to suspend belief and enjoy the music
and the moments that make this film a feel good Christmas story. Both the colour and the music make this film worth seeing and everything else, and there is plenty more, make this a must for Christmas viewing.
December 15, 2018
A bland story that barely resembles its source material. I took a nap about halfway through and woke up to some scary ass clowns. Then I remained for the rest of the film against my better judgment, but that's just because I don't like leaving things uncompleted. I had absolutely no fun with this movie.
December 15, 2018
It was AMAZING!!! I love the story-line and the plot. It has a way most movies pull you in and then a huge plot twist happens. I was able to figure it out, but thatÔ(TM)s because I try to. I highly recommend this movie.
December 13, 2018
Mond numbing borefest.
December 12, 2018
Mackenzie Foy is the only reason to see this movie.
½ December 12, 2018
Yiiiiikes. I must start by saying I was extremely excited to see this film. Sadly, I left the theater extremely disappointed. While this film is absolutely gorgeous, it's nothing but an emotionless shell. The script is extremely sloppy and underdeveloped, leaving a "big" twist not big at all. While I did enjoy Keira's performance, the film's bad writing only left me wanting more, and not in a good way.
½ December 11, 2018
It was a really bad movie. I felt iit had holes in the story they should have elaborated on. It reminded me of A wrinkle in Time (which I felt the same way) and like the wizard of Oz and Alice in wonderland. I was highly dissatisfied. It looked so good from the commercials.
December 11, 2018
The movie was awesome, and it reminds me of my childhood when I watched the Nutcracker.
Super Reviewer
½ December 10, 2018
Not being overly familiar with the German story from which the famous ballet drew its inspiration I was completely game for this Disneyfied version of The Nutcracker story. If nothing else, I thought The Nutcracker and the Four Realms might make me feel like a kid again. You know, being fed classic literature through the guise of Walt Disney´┐ 1/2(TM)s interpretation and being spared any gory or potentially upsetting details in favor of being sent home with a belly full of sentimental, if not substantial, satisfaction. This, coupled with the fact it might be nice to get a break from what might have otherwise been another ´┐ 1/2live-action´┐ 1/2┬? re-imagining of one of my childhood classics made for a fair amount of-I won´┐ 1/2(TM)t say excitement, but eagerness on my part. The fact it clocked in at a brisk 90-minutes didn´┐ 1/2(TM)t hurt either.

And for the first half hour or so I was on board with what both the Mouse House and director-for-hire Lasse Hallstr├Âm (What´┐ 1/2(TM)s Eating Gilbert Grape, The Cider House Rules) were doing and seemingly wanted to do. Without so much as breaking a sweat the film instinctively provides this necessary aura of Christmas warmth. I say Hallstr├Âm is a director-for-hire because that´┐ 1/2(TM)s what it feels like at this stage in his career and with this type of project, but as one can tell from the man´┐ 1/2(TM)s past credits this is not a single-faceted filmmaker and thus there are some very cool, very classic choices in terms of style as not only does the film pay homage to large ballet productions, but to the golden-age of movie musicals as well. I won´┐ 1/2(TM)t sit here and pretend I know all there is to know about classic Hollywood musicals or ballet productions and make comments on how Hallstr├Âm uses there influence to craft his visuals, but I will say that thousands of life-size mice forming together in constant motion to create one big Mouse King is absolutely terrifying and also rather visually inventive too. So, there´┐ 1/2(TM)s that.

It is once the parameters of the plot are defined and the characters all established that things become all the more predictable; the motivations of the characters and the lessons intended to be taught all equally as obvious. Our protagonist, Clara (Interstellar´┐ 1/2(TM)s Mackenzie Foy), is meant to learn lessons about and the differences between trust and responsibility as well as deception through this journey she has to commit to completing on her own and though these may feel like terribly trite lessons, there is something to be said for the fact that sometimes all people need for you to do is trust in yourself and hold strong to your ideals. It is in this regard that it´┐ 1/2(TM)s hard to come down on The Nutcracker and the Four Realms in any real harsh way. The fact the film starts off strong enough and initially feels as if it might become as immersive as the very expensive digital effects and fantastical sets make it seem to be it very quickly devolves into a stilted narrative that often times feels as if it too still has to work out the plot. Instead of putting in the work to figure out how the story might naturally progress though, and find a resolution that might stress the aforementioned themes it instead hurries through the beats of a discarded YA script to reach an underwhelming and lackadaisical finale.

Morgan Freeman has maybe (maybe) a day´┐ 1/2(TM)s worth of work in here and Helen Mirren barely registers. The same goes for Eugenio Derbez and Richard E. Grant who are massively wasted as afterthought supporting characters while Keira Knightley makes a (bold?) choice with that voice. More Matthew Macfadyen in things though, please. Thanks.

The whole Russian nesting doll concept with real people was a cool idea too and it´┐ 1/2(TM)s bits like this mixed with the lack of them anywhere else in the third act that hint towards the fact Joe Johnston´┐ 1/2(TM)s (October Sky, Captain America: The First Avenger) re-shoots might have been a bit more extensive than routine re-shoots.

#ReleaseTheHallstr├ÂmCut
½ December 9, 2018
Racist to the core ! We left after 20 minutes. The movie exists as yet another vehicle to push a romance between a black male and a white female. Sickening ! don't wast your money or expose your children to this continued globalist anti white agenda.
December 7, 2018
Loved this movie, as did my wife and 12 year old son. Not sure what's not to like, except that it does mention Christmas and I guess that's it's key fault. My 5 star rating could not be saved/ loaded.
½ December 6, 2018
No , not a great movie for sure, and is embarrassing somewhat for knightley but still many good things , including the lead actress and the colourful movie scenery etc
December 5, 2018
Disney shouldn't have another people-acting movie.
December 5, 2018
I went to the cinema to see it not expecting much because of the reviews . But I loved it. I'm 38 years old guy and I loved it. Yes it is. It a movie that will leave long impression but it is s movie to watch every Christmas and it is engaging and fun
December 4, 2018
I HATE ROTTEN TOMATO GO DIEEEEEEEEW
December 4, 2018
I saw this with my family and we all went in not expecting much because of low scores from critics but we all really enjoyed it! The music, special effects, costumes, and production design all came together to create magic on the big screen. The snippets of dancing and homage paid to the original ballet was beautifully done and perfectly placed into the story. The story itself might've been predictable, but still had it's fair share of twists, and was still full of heart and Christmas spirit. I enjoyed the uplifting themes woven into the story about family, dealing with the loss of loved ones, and to not judge appearances. I still don't understand the bad reviews from critics, but as a casual moviegoer who's just somewhat familiar with the original nutcracker story, I loved this retelling and would definitely recommend it, especially for the Christmas season. (I enjoyed it so much I created an account JUST to write this review, haha :)
December 4, 2018
Filmnya bagus... Keren kostumnya i love it
½ December 4, 2018
We thought it was WONDERFUL! I don't think the critics saw the same movie. The Nutcracker is a BALLET, and the ballet dancing was marvelous! The movie kept the essential elements of the classic and then added to them. Clara became a very smart, brave, and resourceful girl; and villians became the heroes and vice versa (not to give it away). The acting was tremendous, the scenery enchanting, the costumes magnificent, and the music, of course, beautiful. What are these critics looking for? The only negative was that the wonderfully portrayed "Godfather" character was a bit too out of context, but that's just my taste. Go see it!
Page 1 of 17