The Grinch - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Grinch Reviews

Page 1 of 10
November 14, 2018
The original book was about the over-adbundance of capitalism in Christmas. This movie (and its marketing) is nothing but capitalism, pop culture, and gross-out. Dr. Suess would be ashamed of what happened to his characters, I sure am. The fact it hasn't even been 20 years since the last movie makes it even worse. Sadly, no good christmas movie has come out yet this year. So save your money, and wait for Wreck it Ralph 2 and Mary Poppins
½ November 14, 2018
When I went into the theater, I was expecting a bad movie. Especially from Illumination, who doesn't give an utter crap what the critics think about it, all they want to do is make money. But oddly enough, I'd probably rank this 3rd in the Illumination "Franchise".

First, I will be comparing this to Jim Carry's Dr Seuss' How The Grinch Stole Christmas. This movie is utter garbage, and I will explain how this interpretation is no much better. Really, the only thing to talk about here is the plot. The live-action version of the grinch barely uses this aspect. The plot is mentioned briefly throughout the movie, but most of the time all the story gives is filler. The animated version, however, doesn't feel forced and actually is consistent on this aspect.

Now, I will compare The Grinch to all other animated movies. Unlike most animated movies, it is clear that The Grinch is being forced to be a product. Not a product to sell as toys, but a product as a movie. Sure, you could say this is what every movie ventures out to be, but these other movies still add flavor to their product, so it can win awards, become a classic, etc. The Grinch will never become a classic. As time goes by, the world will only see it as a Grinch movie, with nothing to important to add to the story. I think the score is pretty good as it is, at 56%.
½ November 14, 2018
Honestly, when the movie started it's kind of telling the story of why the Grinch hated Christmas and a flashback. It was boring, it shows children some morals. But, I feel in my opinion, that the movie was short. I even wonder why they put all the effort and money into this film.
November 14, 2018
Ok, ok, if it means that much to you, I'll review...

The Grinch (not the one with Jim Cary)

The original Grinch short cartoon was a masterpiece, the Jim Cary live action film was HMHO ok, delving into his backstory, showing the Who's as crass consumers, all that good stuff. And now we have a mix: an animated hour-&-a-half movie. Will it dethrone the original, or will we scream ENOUGH WITH THE GRINCH MOVIES ALREADY in one voice? Here. We. Go!

Ok, I don't know if it knocks the original off it's high perch, but IMHO, it comes dang close! Unlike the live version, we get right to the main story, with minor but essential expansions fleshing it out. Honestly, I thought the time was well spent! The story once again adds the Grinch's backstory, but it's more organic & feels less "filler-y".

The cast did a really great job. Benedict Cumberbach could've played such an iconic character any way he chose, & he chose an uptight socially awkward nerd whose pain at being left in the cold had festered into something caustic & sinister. As one of a similar personality, it kinda hit close to home for me. This Grinch was the most relatable since Jim donned the green fir. Max the Dog took on a greater role this time, acting as more of a service animal/loyal roommate & having more opinions than earlier incarnations, it was refreshing. Cindy Loo's new characterization was a nice mix of an adventurous spirit & an altruistic nature, far more than any real kid; she's a bit too saint-like for the real world, but at least she wasn't boring or dislikable. The rest of the cast were mainly for dressing, but they added a nice bit of detail, especially the deer, who might knock the minions off THEIR perch, & the mayor, voiced surprisingly by Angela Lansbury, who's still kickin', & Cindy's family, who...no spoilers!

The animation was great. It all was clearly meant to be viewed in 3D, but my 2D viewing didn't detract from the experience. All the characters & locations paid respect to the source material, while looking organic. The snow & some of the environments really stood out, almost lookin' like they were really there!

The music was modern, while maintaining the original spirit...except for "Welcome Christmas" which was unaltered, no one would be crazy enough to mess with THAT song!

This version of The Grinch may be a cash grab, it may be an honest homage, it may be lots of things, but it ain't nothin' if not a decent holiday film that got an emotional response from me, which doesn't happen often. 4 stars outta 5, happy Grinch-mas!!!! #ScreamingGoat
½ November 14, 2018
Worst remake ever! Full of Christian music and a story line that didn't add up. This movie takes away from The Grinch story and turned Cindy Lou's mom into a single parent. The music was horrid and tried to be "now" instead of having the classic ambiance once treasured. Narrator lacked rhythm and passion. Gives me great horror to downvote an all time classic like this but, when you mess up, you mess up. Shame on the actors for going along with it and shame on Danny Elfman. I thought better of you all. The writers should be fired.
November 14, 2018
No real content to even this simple storyline. Me and the kids were bored and I tried really hard to like it. Felt like this was just Hollywood using the holiday and family movie to make money off of instead of giving us something to remember.
½ November 14, 2018
Not what my family and I was looking forward to. This was a poorly "modernized" movie. The music had little to nothing to do with the original. It tried easy to hard to be cool/ hip.
½ November 14, 2018
Brilliant for kids would highly recommend! Brought my brother the weekend and we had a brilliant time watching this. Great humor in it and songs.
November 14, 2018
It was alright I think the one with Jim Carrey was a lot better
½ November 14, 2018
I was a saddened by the bad reviews on this film when I knew I was going to see it with a group of friends. I was worried it wouldn't be funny and that I wouldn't enjoy it. I'm glad I had no reason to worry. It's a lighthearted family Christmas movie that's surprisingly entertaining! Benedict Cumberbatch makes an excellent Grinch. Also, the songs we're so nice and I'm glad they stuck a few classics in there.
November 14, 2018
i watched this movie despite my better judgement and i wound up loving it i absolutly loved it the movie was hilarious this was an amazing movie i was so happy with the outcome of what i saw the movie made me smile and filled me with christmas glee
November 14, 2018
My daughter and I loved it!
½ November 13, 2018
With a clear message and good animation this movie is fun to watch.
November 13, 2018
Personally, I think it was soooo cute. I loved the story. The images were so colorful, characters were funny and I think it may be my favorite.
½ November 13, 2018
Huge let down! My 5 year old daughter didn't even want to finish it. She only laughed twice the entire film. The attempt of the new rendition was a flop. Very disappointed.
November 13, 2018
Really enjoyed this with two preschool grandchildren. Lots of funny scenes, and not as scarey as the first one. A great ending about needing love and kindness at Christmas. I also liked Max the ever faithful dog who would do anything to show love to its master.
November 13, 2018
It's based on a 64 page children's book and it's a Christmas movie. Not sure what folks are expecting here. If you like Dr. Seuss and/or you like Christmas movies you will enjoy this. This is much better than the Jim Carey version.
November 13, 2018
While not as bad as Illumination's The Lorax, Mike Myer's The Cat in the Hat, or Jim Carrey's The Grinch, this movie is an unnecessary remake to a far superior movie that adds on things that confuse the message, add filler, and at some times, makes you cringe.
½ November 13, 2018
This movie was really not needed. The original is better and more concise in every way. There is just a lot of fluff here to simply re-tell the original. I'm not sure I really like Benedict as the Grinch either. The movie also had some really bad "rap" songs. I say "rap" in quotes because I don't want to insult real rap music. One of the worst kept looping over and over about his yellow teeth. Yet the Grinch had perfect pearly whites. Stay away from this, maybe check it out when you can watch it at home? Even that is hard to recommend. Total Cash Grab, nothing more!
Page 1 of 10