Overlord - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Overlord Reviews

Page 1 of 12
November 19, 2018
GOOD MOVIE. IT FEELS LIKE A GRINDHOUSE FILM SO IF YOU LIKE STUFF ALONG THOSE LINES YOU WILL ENJOY THIS
November 19, 2018
A good, solid movie - although it's more of a "war" movie than a "zombie" flick, it's great to see a strong African-American lead kick Nazi butt and fight to be the moral center despite the craziness going on around him. Definitely worth the money!
November 19, 2018
Overlord packs a serious scare.
November 19, 2018
Excellent little horror gem with a thrilling story and good atmosphere. Movie is intense for the first half and loses its steam towards the end. Protagonist is very humanized and easy to like, and the rest of the cast is fun. The final act falls victim to predictability and dullness where they have to fight the final mutated boss, which I have seen in every Resident Evil video game. Aside from the final act, this is a definite must for horror fans.
½ November 19, 2018
Definitely a fun movie and JJ Abrams style is all over this movie. Really enjoyed the action and interesting take.
½ November 19, 2018
a great surprise , great production by JJ Abrams, first scene really worth already, predictable in the end but still great.
my score is 7.9
½ November 18, 2018
Best war movie I have ever seen. Totally invested the whole time. Not one bad actor in the entire movie. Special effects looked amazing. Practical effects were great. There was one moment where I got a little bored but that's only because I have an extremely short attention span. Me and my mom kept saying how great it was hours after leaving the theater. I didn't even see a trailer for this movie. I just thought the title sounded bad ass and when I heard it was action/horror I rolled the dice. And boy did I luck out! You should totally see it in a theater with surround sound because it makes you feel like you are actually immersed into a war.
November 18, 2018
Overlord really captured the World War II vibe in this sci-fi historical thriller. The battle scenes were all very well done. The only thing I didn't like was the acting of the Corporal.
½ November 18, 2018
This movie was great! Way better than expected! Great acting, great story and great special effects.
November 18, 2018
Overhyped and over-revisionist
½ November 18, 2018
It's BAND OF BROTHERS (2001) meets RE-ANIMATOR (1985), but not quite as memorable as either.
November 18, 2018
This being a flick produced by J.J. Abrams, one can't help think of franchises like Lost and Cloverfield--for a while, it was even assumed that this movie was the fourth installment of that saga--, and immediately feel that the story missed an extra final step of madness and wacky revelations.

But in all honesty, that's extremely unfair. This is a script of a nice B-Movie treated seriously as a war blockbuster with a nice budget and good actors. It's also a blast.

That needs to be celebrated, always.
November 18, 2018
Is this a spoof? Worst movie I have seen in a long time. How did this get out and are you kidding me with the positive reviews? C'mon, this is a spoof right?
½ November 18, 2018
Needs more zombies and zombie action.
Should have expanded on the nazi experiment; we didn't get to see any of it.

Even if it wasn't authentic for the time period, the diversity was refreshing.

However, we were confused about the source of the zombie serum and only 1 out of 4 of our party was able to deduce the fact that the source of the zombies were french truffles.

Overall, we enjoyed the movie. Any movie that is about doing in nazis and zombies can't be all that bad.

PS Kurt Russel's son is equivalent to Kurt Russel.
November 18, 2018
I enjoyed this movie.
Super Reviewer
½ November 18, 2018
The movie can be quite tense and thrilling, and it is funny that, while not very bright, the main character is lucky enough to stumble on information after information by pure chance and not get killed after thirty minutes - which makes everything even more fun to watch.
November 18, 2018
This movie was all it promised in the trailer blood,guns,gore and of course lots of action the story was lacking a little bit but overall a great action film.
November 18, 2018
perfect for something to be entertained with, the violence and gore is truly satisfying and the dialogue is bravado.
½ November 17, 2018
A great combination of army and zombie films.
November 17, 2018
In my books, I consider this one of the greatest movies of all time. Just go watch it and pay attention to it's detail. This film is an instant classic.
Page 1 of 12