Bohemian Rhapsody - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Bohemian Rhapsody Reviews

Page 1 of 15
November 14, 2018
Yes, the narrative moves too fast, but the film is worth seeing for exactly two reasons: Rami Malek's excellent work as Freddie Mercury... and the musical sequences (especially that of Live Aid). [Full review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 14, 2018
The movie falls into some of the pitfalls of telescoping events to fit the format. But it heroically depicts the Queen era (late '70s-early '80s), and the band's phenomenal creative energy and output.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
November 13, 2018
As with all dramatized stories of real lives, artistic license hammers messy reality into a watchable film. Dramas are not documentaries. The essential emotions of Freddie's life and the history of the band are here.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
November 13, 2018
To play any icon is like walking a tightrope above a rapaciously protective fanbase, but Malek embodies the man and the mystery he both detested and promoted.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Top Critic
November 13, 2018
As for Freddie Mercury, is this his real life? Is this just fantasy - not sure that really matters either. When Malek's strutting like a peacock, this movie is a decently amusing escape from reality.
November 13, 2018
Freddie's genius and unapologetic way of being himself were splashed across the screen and riddled with shame and loneliness at the same time. Rami was able to bring this duality of confidence and insecurity that tugged on my heartstrings the whole film.
November 12, 2018
It's a crowd pleaser in the ultimate sense - building to a rousing final act that will leave audiences tapping their feet and humming along.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
November 11, 2018
The movie itself isn't killer, but the music is worthwhile.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
November 11, 2018
Whether you are or were a Queen fan, Bohemian Rhapsody stands alone as a terrific film, made the more moving and engaging by the truth of its story, complete with its pathos, melancholy, triumph and death.
November 11, 2018
Queen's seductive music and Rami Malek's scene-stealing performance as Freddie Mercury make Bohemian Rhapsody into epic cinematic poetry.
November 9, 2018
You should, you should, see it.
November 9, 2018
They told the story very well, it moved and it certainly wasn't boring. As far as entertainment goes...yes, all the yeses.
November 9, 2018
It definitely moved me, it was emotional, but while watching I kept feeling that this was a little bit bleached, a little bit edgeless...sanitized, it feels like a comic book in a way...
November 9, 2018
Helmed by Bryan Singer, a highly competent director by any metric, "Bohemian Rhapsody" is about as safe and conventional a musical biopic as you will find.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
November 9, 2018
As a solid actor, Malek is able to fill in gaps were the script falls short, he delivers introspective moments that no lines could.
November 8, 2018
Malek delivers a performance of churning self-belief, swagger and loneliness. But Mercury's sexuality and illness deserve more exploration and thoughtfulness than they get. The music storms through; this is the greatest showman in more ways than one.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 8, 2018
I really liked the film, but they did miss the boat on really giving this to the community that this should be for.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 8, 2018
Rami Malek should be nominated for this movie...he carried this movie on his shoulders, and he rocked it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 8, 2018
Malek offers an utterly compelling performance as the Freddie Mercury we know, but the constraints of the film and that all-important PG-13 rating leave no time for the Freddie Mercury we don't know, and that's what we'd love to have seen more of.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 8, 2018
We can bitch and whine about what's not here ... or we can sit back and enjoy the way it honours Mercury and Queen. I would much prefer to do the latter.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Page 1 of 15