Beautiful Boy - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Beautiful Boy Reviews

Page 1 of 4
November 14, 2018
i don't care to watch a lame movie about a disfuntional family
November 13, 2018
Addiction dramas are always a chore. And that definitely seems to be the point. You're supposed to feel the frustration and desperation of the addicted characters involved. But I found this one especially frustrating for some reason. Perhaps it's the potency and resilience of the kind of addiction dealt with by the film's main character. Or it could be the overly understated performances and direction that made this feel as empty as it ended up making me feel. Either way, though the movie has a few memorable and even heartbreaking moments, I couldn't help but feel as though a more expressive and dramatic approach would've worked better. Still, a competent work overall.
½ November 13, 2018
Steve Carell could get an Oscar nomination for best actor. Powerful and very sad film of a true story about a father who tries to save his son from a crystal meth addiction.
November 12, 2018
Boring and unrealistic far cry from the books
November 12, 2018
The best Lifetime Original movie of the year. Has there ever been an actor more mediocre than Steve Carell? Greg Kinnear maybe?
November 11, 2018
There is nothing really bad about the movie it is just really simple and jumps fast with little explanation of what led to the events going on. I wish they focused a little more on the negatives like withdrawals. Definitely good enough to see though.
November 11, 2018
I took one of my sponsee's to see this tonight. I honestly was NOT expecting the emotions I went through while watching this movie. The ENTIRE movie replayed the hell of my addiction! A parent will always fight for their child but to see the father (in this movie) walk away from his son out of fear of watching him die was very hard to watch. I heard several people in the theater crying. I'm not going to lie, I shed a few tears throughout it, especially at the end. Thank you to my sponsor for never giving up on me! Most importantly to God for ALWAYS being there for me, even though I walked away from You several times thinking that I could do it on my own (taking my will back) which nearly proved fatal. If you are a sponsor, do your sponsee a favor and take them to see this movie. If you are the parent of an addict, you MUST go see this movie. It will change your life! Only by God's grace and never ending love do I have 19 years clean! Today is day 7,129!!
½ November 11, 2018
Beautiful Boy is a heavy film of coke, heroin and meth addiction, particularly of the type that might befall teens to twenty-somethings in communities when parents drive minivans. Co-stars Maura Tierney and Amy Ryan might have too little to do, but they each manage to get in a significant scene or two. Based on their individual books, this is the guys' story. The guys here are David Sheff played Steve Carell and Nic Sheff played by Timothée Chalamet. This is a message movie of the downward spiral that starts with an event and wanting to get help. The recovery cycles give hope, and the relapses leave us wrecked. The frequent chop of flashbacks drags down the comprehensiveness of the film a touch, but they also fill in the backstory of the love father David has for his son Nic. There has been mention of Bradley Cooper's portrayal of the shades of addiction and recovery In A Star is Born. No disrespect to Mr Cooper, young Chalamet knocks this portrait out of the park. Timothée Chalamet's addict is my lead contender for Best Actor material of what I have seen this year, and that includes me having seen Rami Malek's Freddie Mercury. Devastating.
November 11, 2018
Steve Carell and Timothee Chalamet give oscar-worthy performances, and that makes this movie so good.
November 11, 2018
A three star movie elevated by Chalamet's performance and his genuine chemistry with Carrell and Ryan (who are given a lot less to do besides play angry/stricken).
November 11, 2018
Loved every minute of it
½ November 11, 2018
It's a tearjerker for sure
November 10, 2018
Very emotional movie well done. Heartbreaking and just we'll acted. Best movie I've seen in awhile.
½ November 10, 2018
Carell and cast work together very well and put together a overall solid movie about a very serious and deep issue, Beautiful Boy captures a deep complexity to what the addiction issue does not only to the person using but the people who are involved within relationships. A lot of emotions to be had throughout the movie. Beautiful Boy has some issues and falters throughout some of the story with scenes and dialogue that do not benefit the movie but does not completely shut out the intention of the film
November 10, 2018
Such a beautiful movie. Acting was not acting, it was real and genuine. The movie is not for entertainment purposes, but rather for awareness. I think everyone should see this movie. I am speechless. This movie was so well done.
November 9, 2018
Many critics are citing directing and editing as a distraction/barrier from being able to find an emotional connection to these characters and this story - I found it quite the opposite. The film is edited in such a way as to define just how saturated the lives of those who experience the disease of addiction becomes. It is all encompassing and there is no linear story when it comes to addiction - point A does not lead to point B and so on. Instead life becomes a sort of zig zag where the direction of life no longer applies in quite the same way. Chalamet, Carell, and the less noted Maura Tierney deliver performances that not only honor the true lives of the Sheff family, but also respect the lives of those impacted with the plight of addiction. See it with someone you love as it is also, at its heart, a story of how we love, and of how invaluable unconditional love can be.
November 9, 2018
The acting by Carrell, Chalamet, and the other actors was great, i dont want to take away from the praise that they deserve, but I cant pretend i wasn't left brutally disappointed at the end of the film. Having earnestly devoured David and Nic Sheff's books years earlier, and being an on-again/off-again drug addict myself, I was expecting this movie to shatter stigmas surrounding addiction and break barriers between addicts and those who dont understand the totality of the horrific nature of addiction. This movie was bland at best. It was a painfully generic and recycled tale of addiction, recovery, and relapse - it's been done before and will be done again, probably better. The film left out key elements of Nic Sheff's story, as told in his memoir "Tweak," which to an extent I understand - you cant fit three books (from two vastly opposing perspectives) into one 2 hour movie - but Nic's book was so vibrant and full of captivating stories, and the writer failed to make Nic's character any more than a PG-rated, underdeveloped, kid who just strayed from the path and let down his father and the dreams he had for him. Nic's story is gut-wretching, painful and real, and this movie just failed to convey that from all angles.
November 9, 2018
Chalamet and Carell are fantastic. However, Maura Tierney was exceptional.
Definitely not a first date type of movie, but very powerful.
½ November 7, 2018
Based on memoirs of Nic and David Sheff, Beautiful Boy tells the story of a father's attempts to save his son from the depths of his drug addiction. Delving into the cyclic abyss of addiction, the film simultaneously focuses on the perspective of families who struggle with a family member's self-destructive drug abuse.

Meditatively pensive in its pacing approach, the story unfolds with a muted, somber tone lacking the punctuated heft that its co-writer Luke Davies brought to Lion (Davies' 2016 adaptation of Saroo Brierley's memoir). As a character-centered film, the performances of Timothee Chamalet and Steve Carell prove more than strong enough to rescue the film from its lulling moments and make clear the devastating impact of addiction on many families and communities.
November 7, 2018
Beautifully shot movie about an addict thru the eyes of a loving father. Dark topic made watchable by excellent performances. Carell will surprize with his strong and believable performance as the father of .Timothee Chalamet's character. Timothee is at his best which is remarkable considering his best should have won the Oscar last year. The other cast are also wonderful. Music, cinematography make this a beautiful movie and Timothee is so nice to look at and charismatic on screen you really feel for his characters weakness. Touching, will make you cry and feel hope at rhe end.
Page 1 of 4